Physics & Physical Science Demos, Labs, & Projects for High School Teachers

Archive for January 11th, 2010

I’m not usually one to believe in conspiracy theories, but I think I have one here and I know who’s behind it.  After I out them here, I may need to go into hiding.  Ready?  What I want to know is when did the word “effect” get replaced by the word “affect?”  Seriously, what in the world is “cause and affect?”  I know what you are thinking… YES, you are losing sleep over this too, aren’t you?

Let’s start with the definitions.  In a nutshell, “effect” refers to a physical response, while “affect” refers to an emotional response.  So in physics, I can comfortably suggest that most of the time we are talking about “cause and effect.”  By the way, please go to your own favorite [real] dictionary and look up the words.  I insist.  A good scientist doesn’t work from second hand information when a primary source is available.

Now keep your eyes open.  You are going to see the word “affect” in countless places where it does not belong.  I am seeing it in science textbooks and news articles and it makes me nuts.  We may have to start burning books people.

Personally, I blame Microsoft, and I have evidence to support my claims.  Go into Word and type the sentence:  “The wind didn’t effect the speed of the car.”

Did you try it?  Did Word tell you that effect is the wrong word choice and you should use affect?  There is no emotional portion of either a car or the wind.  How many writers, textbook editor, and students get their grammar lessons from Microsoft? Perhaps we are trusting the company a little too much.  I know, you are getting nervous now.

So my theory, and it seems pretty sound from my safe house here in [deleted], is that Microsoft is performing social experiments on our beloved language.  I mean, what the frak, Centurians can’t be far behind.


What’s New in 2013/2014?

Every year brings a change, this one is no exception.

I will be picking up the sophomore honors Algebra II class to keep them separate from the juniors. This should help accelerate them and put them on a stronger track towards Calculus. Looks like there will be only one section each of Physics and Calculus, but still two of Robotics & Engineering.

Hot topics this year are going to be the Common-Core Standards, Standards-Based Grading (SBG), improving AP Calculus scores, and somehow adding Python, maybe as a club.

Polls in the sidebar

Just a quick poll to help me understand who is stopping by my blog.

Yeah sure, lots from America, but look who else is here…

If you are badly in need of more email or for some reason jonesing for a physics fix, enter your email address so I can bother you with my newest rant on science.

Join 225 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 883,045 hits by nerds like me since June 1, 2008
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers