Physics & Physical Science Demos, Labs, & Projects for High School Teachers

Should I Move the Blog??

Posted on: December 17, 2009


Loyal readers, I have a question for you.  Would you care if I moved my blog from WordPress to Blogspot?  Why, you ask, would I move?

Well, I get a pretty decent amount of traffic, more than a couple of people have suggested I put ads on my blog.  WordPress doesn’t allow it, Blogspot does.  We’re talking about Google Adsense, nothing radical or insulting.  I don’t know what it will pay, it might be $100 a month.  I don’t have any way of estimating the payout, but, as so many of you know, teaching doesn’t pay all that well.  (I still don’t make half of what I used to make in sales, but let’s not go there.)

I think I’m going to try parallel posts and see what happens.  What do you think?

7 Responses to "Should I Move the Blog??"

Are you kidding ? Your pagerank is 2 (you certainly won’t get $100 a month, maybe a few dimes), and this would piss off many of you readers. Don’t do that, seriously.

I don’t know if my opinion counts for anything, but if you really think you can be making $100 a month, I think it’s totally worth it! Of course, like the guy above me says, the $100 thing is key. Good luck making your decision!

I actually left blogspot for wordpress because you’re not able to do nearly as many things with your blog. It’s a lot more basic and doesn’t track visits for you, so you have to use a separate website for that. If you want to keep your blog the same way it is now, don’t switch.

I just put the URL in my google reader, the host doesn’t make any difference to me, the reader. It’s whatever makes it easier for you. I won’t see ads in google reader anyway.

I think I’m going to copy a few of my more visited posts over there and see what kind of traffic I get. My cousin has a food based blog that gets half the traffic I get and she’s making $30 or so a month.

I think Becky is right, the tools there aren’t very good. I’m not leaving here, but I believe I can add advertising if I host my WordPress blog on my own site. Still, it seems like work to me and I’m opposed to doing anything more than I absolutely need to do.

In the end, I predict I’ll be lazy and do nothing about it unless I get some really useful guidance from one of you.

Sir,i suggest you to have your own blog .If you wanted to have a BLOG with your own domain name and wanted to earn money then you should visit becomeablogger.com

I may order lab books just because of your post…I think one of those sites will give you a kick back, or at least some kind of discount. I just came across this site after googling “Rube Goldberg,” I’m looking for hands on stuff for my Phys. Sci class for 8th grade. You have some great stuff in here, I wish I found it earlier!! I will certainly be pulling out some projects for next year’s classes. Personally, I don’t care where you host your blog, as long as it doesn’t get blocked by our school filtering (of course, I can still browse through from home!). This is awesome, thanks for putting in the time!!

What do you think? Your opinion matters, leave a reply.

What’s New in 2013/2014?

Every year brings a change, this one is no exception.

I will be picking up the sophomore honors Algebra II class to keep them separate from the juniors. This should help accelerate them and put them on a stronger track towards Calculus. Looks like there will be only one section each of Physics and Calculus, but still two of Robotics & Engineering.

Hot topics this year are going to be the Common-Core Standards, Standards-Based Grading (SBG), improving AP Calculus scores, and somehow adding Python, maybe as a club.

Polls in the sidebar

Just a quick poll to help me understand who is stopping by my blog.

Yeah sure, lots from America, but look who else is here…

If you are badly in need of more email or for some reason jonesing for a physics fix, enter your email address so I can bother you with my newest rant on science.

Join 312 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 1,272,104 hits by nerds like me since June 1, 2008
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
