Physics & Physical Science Demos, Labs, & Projects for High School Teachers

One Question

Posted on: September 26, 2009


question-mark3aTheir homework assignment was called “One Question.”  Their job was to write one science question that they wanted to have answered, any area of science is fine.  If they were goofy or tried to be funny they wouldn’t get credit.

What I got back blew my mind.  There were such incredible questions that I’m going to assign this about once a month.  I’m going to talk about some of these during science news days on Fridays.  Some of them I will save for when we get to the topic.  Some I will post as a list questions they can research and present for extra credit.

Extra credit is a sore point for some of you.  My rule on extra credit is this: if you are missing more than two assignments that quarter, extra credit is not available to you.  Extra credit is not an out for the lazy, it’s a boost for those who work hard and need a couple more points.

[I left the papers at school, I’ll post some of the questions next week.  My own blog is blocked on school computers.]

What do you think? Your opinion matters, leave a reply.

Nothing new since 2016 (It’s 2020)

I left teaching at the end of 2016 and returned to industry, not because I was tired of the classroom but because my wife wanted to be able to travel again.

I do answer emails and am happy to help any new teachers in any way I can.

To so many of you struggling with moving everything online, or worse, being forced into the classroom when the science says DON’T, I am thinking of you and wishing you a healthy year.

Polls in the sidebar

Just a quick poll to help me understand who is stopping by my blog.

Yeah sure, lots from America, but look who else is here…

If you are badly in need of more email or for some reason jonesing for a physics fix, enter your email address so I can bother you with my newest rant on science.

Join 317 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 1,369,710 hits by nerds like me since June 1, 2008
September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930