Physics & Physical Science Demos, Labs, & Projects for High School Teachers

Stomp Rockets

Posted on: June 5, 2008


When I teach projectile motion, I like to do exercises where the students have to predict the results and then perform the experiment. One of my favorite toys is something called Stomp Rockets. They aren’t as easy to find as they were 10 years ago. They are plastic rockets that are launched from a tube and plastic bladder that you stomp on. If you set the angle to around 45° and jump up and come down hard with your heals, you can launch a rocket the length of a football field. If you launch them straight up, you can use a stopwatch to determine the maximum altitude. This is obviously an outside activity, but there are also foam rockets that we have launched in the gym. Outside is more fun.

I built a supersized cardboard protractor to set the launch angle and I had to rebuild the launch stand because it just wasn’t sturdy enough. The challenge is that you can’t get the same launch pressure twice, so the lesson has to be generic enough to get the point across without getting accurate results. We tend to experiment with the relationship between the launch angle and the distance.

I’ll put some pictures here some day, I haven’t done the activity in quite a while.

2 Responses to "Stomp Rockets"

If you are in Ontario Canada you can buy stomp rockets at the Dollar Rama.

Hi Scott,

I love the stomp rocket idea. I was luck to inherit some pretty sweet air-rockets that overcome the stop-shortcoming. These air rockets “pop-off” the launcher at approximately the same v_i everytime (can choose between low, medium, high, and super v_i’s by switching out rocket caps). Check them out here: http://www.arborsci.com/air-powered-projectile

What do you think? Your opinion matters, leave a reply.

Nothing new since 2016 (It’s 2020)

I left teaching at the end of 2016 and returned to industry, not because I was tired of the classroom but because my wife wanted to be able to travel again.

I do answer emails and am happy to help any new teachers in any way I can.

To so many of you struggling with moving everything online, or worse, being forced into the classroom when the science says DON’T, I am thinking of you and wishing you a healthy year.

Polls in the sidebar

Just a quick poll to help me understand who is stopping by my blog.

Yeah sure, lots from America, but look who else is here…

If you are badly in need of more email or for some reason jonesing for a physics fix, enter your email address so I can bother you with my newest rant on science.

Join 317 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 1,369,670 hits by nerds like me since June 1, 2008
June 2008
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30