Physics & Physical Science Demos, Labs, & Projects for High School Teachers

The Spool and String and Torque

Posted on: March 18, 2009


This is one of my favorite simple demonstrations.  I have a plastic spool that came from a pack of rope lights.  The spool is about a foot across and I use it regularly to demonstrate a constant horizontal velocity.

When we study torque, I attach a pink mason line to the spool and wind it up.  The question for the kids is, “What happens when I pull on the string?”  Now, if it is unwinding from the top, obviously the spool is going to go in that direction. In the case of the drawing on the right, the spool is going to roll to the right.

String coming off the bottom of the spool

But what happens when the spool unwinds from the bottom?  Most of the kids think it is going to move to the left.  A few will guess that it will stay in place, unwinding and slipping at the same time.  Only a few think it will move to the right.

Torque on spool

It does in fact move to the right.  If we consider the point at which the spool meets the table our fulcrum, then we have a torque causing clockwise rotation according to the drawing at the right.  The force is going to wind the string around the spool.  Don’t believe me, try it for yourself.

Tags:

4 Responses to "The Spool and String and Torque"

I know that if you pull it to the right it will move right that fact is already established. But, what about the direction of the spin when you apply the force from the bottom? Why is it in the opposite direction to the torque applied by the string? Well, it must be due to some other force, which is friction. Then it must be that the torque from the force of friction is greater than the torque from the force applied. But, the whole point of why I ask a series of questions that I think I know the answers to is to ask one question… Why friction is in that direction? It boggles my mind.

Additionally, if you raise the string at an angle from the bottom, there is a point where the spool turns in the opposite direction of the force applied, which raises even more questions.

Friction is always in the direction opposite of motion, otherwise friction would cause acceleration.

Yes, if you lift up, at some point the vertical component of the pulling force will reduce the downward force to the point where the spool slips in place.

If you look at the discussion on inclined planes and friction (https://teachingphysics.wordpress.com/2008/11/30/294/), you will see how an applied force can increase or decrease the normal force. The frictional force is directly related to the normal force, so if you have hardly any force pushing down on the surface, it slips much easier.

i want to know more about this spooling effect please help me…………….

I wouldn’t call it a “spooling effect,” it’s just torque causing a rotation about a point. I’m not sure what kind of help you are asking for, can you be more specific?

What do you think? Your opinion matters, leave a reply.

Nothing new since 2016 (It’s 2020)

I left teaching at the end of 2016 and returned to industry, not because I was tired of the classroom but because my wife wanted to be able to travel again.

I do answer emails and am happy to help any new teachers in any way I can.

To so many of you struggling with moving everything online, or worse, being forced into the classroom when the science says DON’T, I am thinking of you and wishing you a healthy year.

Polls in the sidebar

Just a quick poll to help me understand who is stopping by my blog.

Yeah sure, lots from America, but look who else is here…

If you are badly in need of more email or for some reason jonesing for a physics fix, enter your email address so I can bother you with my newest rant on science.

Join 317 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 1,369,645 hits by nerds like me since June 1, 2008
March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031